Quiz 4 - Answers (2018/19)

No. Question Mark
1 If a batsmen lawfully hits the ball a second time in defense of his wicket, penalty runs are not to be awarded to the batting side that ball. (1 mark)  
  (Law 34.4) False 1
2 For a one-day game there is no follow-on target. (1 mark)  
  (Law 14.1.2) False (75 runs) 1
3 In Women's cricket, a 150g ball would not be acceptable. (1 mark)  
  (Law 4.6.1) False 1
When should the umpire call and signal Dead Ball? (6 marks)  
  (Law 20.4) intervening in a case of unfair play.
a possibly serious injury to a player or umpire occurs.
leaving his/her normal position for consultation.
one or both bails fall from the striker’s wicket before the striker has had the opportunity of playing the ball.
the striker is not ready for the delivery of the ball and, if the ball is delivered, makes no attempt to play it.
the striker is distracted by any noise or movement or in any other way while preparing to receive, or receiving a delivery.
there is an instance of a deliberate attempt to distract under either of Laws 41.4 (Deliberate attempt to distract striker) or 41.5 (Deliberate distraction, deception or obstruction of batsman).
the bowler drops the ball accidentally before delivery.
the ball does not leave the bowler’s hand for any reason other than an attempt to run out the non-striker under Law 41.16 (Non-striker leaving his/her ground early).
satisfied that the ball in play cannot be recovered.
required to do so under any of the Laws not included above.
0.5
0.5
0.5
0.5
0.5
0.5
1
0.5
0.5
0.5
0.5
5 If a batsman plays a switch hit, and the ball pitches outside his off stump now (but was his leg stump when the bowler delivered the ball) can he be out LBW? (1 mark)  
  (Law 36.3) No.The off side of the striker's wicket shall be determined by the striker's stance at the moment the ball comes into play for that delivery. 1
1
6 What error was made in the following clip? (1 mark)  
  (Law 16.6.1) The game ended on the no-ball so the boundary should not have been recorded by the scorers (The umpire, correctly, did not even signal the boundary). 1
1
7 Other than Run Out, in what other ways can a batsman be dismissed off a wide? (1 mark, complete answer only)  
  (Law 22.9) Stumped, Hit Wicket, Obstructing the Field
1
8 If rolling is to take place during a game, can the pitch be swept and if so, is this part of the 7 minutes of rolling? (2 marks)?  
 

(Law 9.1-2) Yes, The clearance of debris in 9.2.1 shall be done by sweeping.
This is not included in the 7 minutes of rolling.

1
1
9 Look a this video. If this was referred to you as the 3rd umpire what should you do.  What else should happen on the field? (6 marks)?  
 

(Law 28.2.1.3) On review the 3rd umpire should rule the batsman not-out.
The bowlers end umpire should signal deadball.
The bowlers end umpire should then award 5 penalty runs to the batting side for illegal fielding based on the fact the fielder had willfully removed his glove before the ball came in contact with it.
The No ball and the completed single should be awarded to the batting side, but the run in progress should not be awarded as the batsman had not crossed.
The ball does not count as one of the over, and the batsman on strike will now have a free hit from the foot fault.
Because the batsman have changed end, field changes would be permitted.

1
1
1
1
1
1